A. You can’t copyright a letter of the alphabet, and therefore any company can put a “K” on their product without proper certification and assurance that it is indeed kosher. FYI – there are some products which do have reliable supervisions yet only have a “K” on the label such as Kellogg’s Cereals – but you would have to know of this, and not rely on the “K” alone.